Coffee and Cork Boards: My So-Called Writer’s Life

Writing isn’t one of those things where you snap your fingers and words appear on a page. It’s a slog. You spend hours in front of a computer screen each day. No wonder writers develop little habits and routines.
My routine technically begins before I even open my eyes in the morning. My mind starts racing with ideas, and I start working through issues with the plot.
Once I finally do wake up, I make coffee and I put on an old black-and-white horror film. Those are my fav, though sometimes I just mute the volume so I can see it in the background. It’s nice to have the movement–gives my eyes something to look at!

depositphotos_79751954-stock-photo-paper-and-crumpled-with-pen
I have a cork board on the wall near my computer. Every time I come up with an idea, I write it down and tack it up, which means it gets so cluttered I have to clean it like every third day!
Right now I have about four different outlines of “The Midnight Dinner Party” Parts 2 and 3 mingled in with random stuff I like: pictures of haunted mansions. Pictures of fog-shrouded landscapes. A delinquent electric bill. And a pair of high heels I really want!
My workspace makes sense to me, though if a stranger came in and tried to connect the dots, I’d have to say … good luck!
I’m very old school in my way of writing. I do everything by hand, totally OCD. If I don’t like how my handwriting looks, I throw it away and try again until i like it and then I type out the final product.
Which reminds me … I need more pens!
Oh well. The writer life’s for me!
Big hugs!
TG

One thought on “Coffee and Cork Boards: My So-Called Writer’s Life

Leave a Reply

