My Writing Secret: Silver Screen Horror!

Writing can be monotonous business, especially when you live alone, like I do. That’s a lot of hours to spend in front of a computer screen, so I typically turn on an old black-and-white movie and let it play in the background.

My writing companions include Nosferatu, the Phantom of the Opera, and Frankenstein’s monster.

nosferatu1

I don’t typically WATCH the movies – not actively, anyway. In fact, most of the time, they’re on mute. But I take comfort in having them in the background. They give me something to look at when I need a distraction, and they provide the inspiration for the type of horror I like best. What I love about those old-school horror movies is the way directors handled horror in those days. The movies were not only creepier and more gothic, but relied more on building suspense.

Now don’t get me wrong – I love blood and guts. I get why people enjoy today’s more gory horror movies. But back then, directors knew how to allow harness the power of suggestion. They allowed the viewers to torture themselves with their imaginations. 

I like to think that one of my strengths as a writer is creating that same silver-screen suspense in my writing.  Because letting someone’s mind work against them? That’s a power any dom can appreciate!

Big hugs!

T.G

Leave a Reply

